Getting Mods to Work

Charon

How do I get mods concerning alterations to Pokemon and Moves to work? On Deso at least, if I alter the montext.rb and movetext.rb directly I have no issues, I compile the data and it all works fine. But if I put identical data with an identical filename in a Data=>Mods folder, then compiling data doesn't seem to register they exist. While I know how to alter code to some level, I'm a novice when it comes to Mods specifically, so I don't know if this is an issue with what I'm naming things, some scripts that need to be altered, or even if it's something Desolation-specific or if I'd face this issue with anything based on Pokemon Essentials. Help?

Which files exactly are you putting in the Mods folder? The montext.rb, movetext.rb, etc. files need to replace the original files in the Scripts folder, because the compiler will always look for them in those locations. The compiled files (mons.dat, moves.dat, etc.) also need to replace the original files in the Data folder because that's where the engine looks for them when running the game. The Mods folder is only for scripts that add/modify code.

2 hours ago, Karvanha said:

Which files exactly are you putting in the Mods folder? The montext.rb, movetext.rb, etc. files need to replace the original files in the Scripts folder, because the compiler will always look for them in those locations. The compiled files (mons.dat, moves.dat, etc.) also need to replace the original files in the Data folder because that's where the engine looks for them when running the game. The Mods folder is only for scripts that add/modify code.